Wine Wednesday

I love getting Blue Apron as a once-in-awhile treat, and I was thrilled when my seeeeeester Jenni texted me to say that they were going to pair wines with their recipes. YES! While I have not opted to receive their monthly wine shipments (I have a wine buying problem as it is!), I figured I could steal their suggestions using wines I already own.

Tonight we made Blue Apron’s southern style burgers, which had a spicy kick. Blue Apron suggested pairing a Zinfandel, so I reached into my bag of tricks:

wpid-img_20151021_203729.jpg
This is Truro Vineyards’ 2013 Zinfandel made with grapes from Lodi, CA. It’s medium-bodied and spicy with a strong nose and pleasant finish. It’s spiciness and pepper made it a PERFECT pairing with the burgers. It also tasted great with the two pieces of dark chocolate I had for dessert.

A few weeks ago, Dan and I spent a long weekend on the Cape and visited Truro Vineyards. I LOVED the experience! The wine tasting is $10 for five pours and you can keep the glass!

wpid-img_20150926_134917.jpgwpid-img_20150926_123207.jpg
Plus, they sell wine by the glass which you can enjoy would taking a tour, browsing in the gift shop, or just taking in the sights.

wpid-img_20150926_130701.jpgwpid-img_20150926_122759.jpg
wpid-img_20150926_122855.jpg
I LOVED the wines, especially the reds (naturally). The Cab Franc was earthy, the Merlot velvety smooth and fruity, and the Triumph (a Bordeaux style blend) was bold as hell.

In other news, my new phone is en route! Maybe more posts? We will see! 

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

