Training Week 15

It’s been a busy week and I haven’t had time to post an update! I want to make sure I capture everything so here is a VERY brief overview of my third-to-last training week!

My hamstring has all but gone on strike. It has been bothering me constantly since the back-to-back 12 miler and 10K. The pain is this stinging sensation that occurs right behind my knee. It seems to subside if I stretch a lot and move around. I’ve taken a few extra rest days as a result. It is driving me crazy!

Sunday: off/cross train. I did a quick home workout. It was a drizzly day and I wasn’t motivated to go to the gym, so I just winged it with some equipment at home.

wpid-img_20150708_201314.jpg

Monday: 3-5 easy miles. I did 5.01 miles in 51:59 on Dan’s birthday! I also bought a pair of brand new kicks!

wpid-img_20150629_165016.jpg

On the right are my old New Balance 870 v3. On the left is my new New Balance 870 v4! Lucy approves.

wpid-img_20150629_165039.jpg

Tuesday: off? I completely forget what I did this day so I will assume I took an off day to rest my hammy.

Wednesday: I did the 3-5 mile tempo run scheduled for Tuesday and ran 4.01 miles in 36:21.

Thursday: 3-5 easy miles. I took a nice, slow early morning jog around the reservoir. 4.11 miles in 45:58.

Friday: I was scheduled to take a Fusion class at BFX Studio. When I arrived, they told me I was the only one signed up for the class! They let me change to the 6:15 AM Burn class instead, which was really challenging!  It was an interval class that featured kettlebells, dumbbells, and bodyweight exercises. I was sweating like a beast!

Saturday: 8 miles at our last group training run! Next Saturday is the Portland race that most of my teammates are running, so I’ll be on my own with my 6 mile taper run. After 15 weeks of running with my teammates, I’m not going to know what to do with myself!

The Portland runners had 6 miles on the agenda and I was the only one who had to run 8. We ran in South Boston along Carson Beach again, and I did two loops instead of one to get in the extra mileage. Coach Lori filled me in on her recent trip to Napa and gave me some excellent tips for my upcoming trip. When we separated so she could find other teammates, I managed to get lost running in a circle, as only I can do. Luckily she found me!

Southie

After the run, Dan and I drove up to the lake and visited with my parents, grandparents, sister, bro-in-law, and baby Owen! It was kind of a rainy 4th but we managed to squeeze in lots of cornhole!

Total miles for Week 15: 21.55 – between beginning to taper and adding more rest for my hammy, I did fewer miles than last week’s 25.32.

Next week, get psyched for tapering!

One thought on “Training Week 15

Leave a Reply

