Wine Wednesday (updated)

Sigh.

Once again I’m a Wine Wednesday slacker! I think the excitement of posting about the 6K caused it to slip my mind. Which is weird because as soon as I tasted the wine below, I knew I wanted to post about it!

image

I tasted this at BLM‘s recent Bordeaux tasting. This is 100% Sauvignon Blanc from Pessac-Leognan, an appelation in the Bordeaux subregion of Graves on the left bank. It spends time in both stainless steel and French oak. We tasted it after another Sauvignon Blanc (EDIT: 2013 Chateau Bertinerie Blanc, from the Blaye region) from Bordeaux that only sees stainless steel. I love being able to taste the  difference! The other wine had that crispness and citrus I normally think of for Sauv Blanc, but this baby was smoother and creamier thanks to the oak. They were both great wines that would work with different dishes. We cracked this open on Monday with some risotto made with chicken sausage, peas and Parmesan. It was a great pairing!

At the same tasting I also bought this Rose, made with Cabernet and Merlot. It was really tasty – dry and crisp. I don’t usually think of rose when I think of these two grapes, or with Bordeaux for that matter.

image

We had this with a bacon/chicken ragu served over spaghetti squash. It wasn’t a perfect pairing but it worked! Plus I drank it the night before my big win, so maybe I should start drinking rose before all races!

image

Both of these wines were reasonably priced so I will be sure to stock up. I don’t have my wine tasting notes with me so I will edit this post later with more info. EDIT: The 2011 Chateau Coucheroy Blanc Pessac-Leognan retails for $19.99 and we purchased it with the tasting discount for $15.99. The 2013 Rose de Chevalier retails for $15.99, $12.79 with the discount.

With summer (and porch season) around the corner, I’m always glad to find new whites and roses that I enjoy. What is your go-to porch wine?

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

