Welcome to Wine Wednesday!

I love reading other bloggers’ theme posts (What I Ate Wednesday, Friday Favorites) so I wanted to start my own weekly tradition! What better for a wine + running blog than Wine Wednesday?  Yay alliteration!

Featured Wine
image

Mayu 2012 Carmenere Syrah from Chile. This was part of BLM‘s Valentine’s Day themed tasting and it was so good we went back for a second bottle while the discount was still in effect! This was deep and earthy with a rich color from the Syrah. We enjoyed the first bottle with a Blue Apron wild mushroom pasta dish and the second bottle with pot roast and polenta. It retails at $14.99 but we bought it at $11.99 with the wine tasting discount. A great value!

Wine Links:

I LOVED this primer on White Burgundy, especially since last week’s tasting at BLM was all about the Burgundy (red and white). There I tasted a Chablis that is haunting me, which is weird because I normally gravitate towards oaky, buttery Chardonnay.  It was $30+, more than I usually spend (especially on white)!

image

Let’s hit another French wine region! Bordeaux is so amazing but oh so overwhelming!  This is a great introduction and explanation covering some of the basics.  “Lefty Loosy (Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc), Righty Tighty (Merlot)” – LOVE it!  Here are some Bordeaux wines I’ve discussed before, both from the right bank (specifically, Blaye and Saint-Georges-Saint-Émilion).  We have also enjoyed a wine from Medoc on the left bank:
image

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

