Not ready for boot weather …

Even if they ARE pretty things!

 image

On Tuesday and a whim, Dan and I hit up Audubon for Pretty Things Boot Night – order a Meadowlark IPA and keep the glass boot it came in!  It wasn’t hard to convince Dan, as Meadowlark is a house favorite.  

image

An extra added bonus was that the weather was so nice, we were able to drink and eat on the patio.  Fall in Boston = taking advantage of every last opportunity to dine outside, as each could be your last!

We split a BLT spread on pita bread (yum).  For dinner I ordered the grilled tuna salad that was so pretty I had to be That Girl and take a picture, flash and EVERYTHING.

I have been neglecting wine for beer a lot lately.  I’m an unfit wino.  However, last Saturday we stayed in and had a bottle of delicious Italian red wine that I forgot to take a picture of!  It was medium bodied and flavorful without being overly tannic or sweet.  It was very well balanced.  I tried it with a taste of chocolate and found that I preferred sipping it on its own.  This is rare.  Wine + chocolate = my favorite.  Hopefully I will find it again!

Last night I had two glasses of this Bordeaux, which had a wonderful earthy aroma:

 

Medoc is a northern, left-bank region of Bordeaux. Fun fact: if a wine is labelled with a region like “Medoc” as opposed to “Bordeaux” generally, it means all the grapes come from that region.

Finally, humblebrag alert – on Monday we met up with a group of college friends at Fugakyu to celebrate birthdays and homecomings.  I ordered the white wine flight (Sancerre, Pinot Grigio, and Riesling) and was able to correctly identify each glass based on SMELL ALONE.  Rock.  

One thought on “Not ready for boot weather …

Leave a Reply

